Scottish Competence Based Qualifications

Scottish Competence Based Qualifications (CBQs) are work-based qualifications. They are SQA Accredited qualifications credit and levelled for the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) which provide assurance that an individual can do their job well and to the national standards for the relevant sector.

ECITB’s CBQs are knowledge and competence based qualifications that are based on the National Occupational Standards (NOS) for the Engineering Construction industry. NOS are developed by employers and professional bodies in conjunction with the ECITB Standard Setting Organisation and describe what employers mean by occupational competence within a particular job role.

Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework

The Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) is a way of comparing Scottish qualifications in terms of challenge and size. This is done by giving each qualification a level and a number of credit points.

CBQs are available at different levels of challenge allowing for progression in the workplace. ECITB’s CBQs are available at levels 5, 6 and 7.

The level of a qualification indicates how challenging the learning is.

The credit points show how much learning is required to achieve the qualification in terms of time.

CBQs are listed on the SQA Accreditation database at SQA Accreditation – Search for Accredited Qualifications

Take a look at our CBQ qualifications below, if you can’t find what you are looking for contact

Engineering qualifications – craft and technical

Industry General





Instrument & Controls

Non Destructive Testing


Engineering qualifications – professional

Design and Draughting