CCNSG and ACE – engineering construction industry safety card2022-04-22T12:49:34+01:00
  • CCNSG & ACE Safety Cards header

CCNSG Safety Passport – the engineering construction industry safety card

The CCNSG (Client Contractor National Safety Group) Safety Passport is the engineering construction industry safety card. Workers must have a valid CCNSG Safety Passport to enter many engineering and construction sites. As a result, around 30,000 people complete the course each year.

The available courses are:

The CCNSG National Course is a two-day training course in basic site safety. On completion, successful candidates receive a CCNSG Safety Passport. This is the engineering construction industry safety card, which is valid for three years.

The CCNSG National Course covers the following topics:

  • Safe behaviours at work, including consequences of good and bad safety practices and the Health and Safety at Work Act 1974.
  • Risk assessments, including fire safety, hazardous substances and asbestos.
  • Hierarchy of control.
  • Manual handling.
  • Provision and use of work equipment regulations.
  • Hand Arm Vibration Syndrome.
  • Working in confined spaces and working at height.
  • Lifting Operations and Lifting Equipment Regulations.
  • Site transport.
  • Signage.
  • Excavations.
  • Electric/Isolation.
  • Environment, including noise. .
  • Reporting of Injuries, Diseases and Dangerous Occurrences.

The CCNSG Renewal Course is a one-day refresher course for those who have already completed the CCNSG National Course. Importantly, card holders must renew within the safety passport expiry date or retake the two-day CCNSG National Course.

The CCNSG Renewal Course covers:

  • The impact of an accident.
  • The importance of safe behaviour.
  • Legal framework.
  • Point Of Work Risk Assessment.
  • Permit to Work.
  • Good practice.

The CCNSG Leading a Team Safely is a one day workshop. The course introduces health and safety management within small teams, for instance:

  • Communicating successfully.
  • Leading a team successfully.
  • Achieving safe outcomes.
  • Self-management.
  • Working safely with others.

From the 1st April 2022, candidates must take the online renewal test within the safety passport expiry date. Delegates must renew their card within the expiry date otherwise they will have to attend the full 2-Day National Course to be in possession of a valid CCNSG Card.

The CCNSG Test-Only for Renewal Course is for existing passport holders. Therefore, this serves as an alternative option to the CCNSG Renewal Course with no classroom workshop elements.

Remember, no training or assistance will be given at the test so candidates must ensure they have revised their health and safety knowledge ahead of the session.  test consists of 60 multiple choice questions with a pass mark of 48 (80%).

Topics contained within the CCNSG renewal test include:

Health and safety legislation, regulations and safe working practices and procedures, specifically:

  • Relevant health and safety legislation and regulations in relation to responsibilities of client or site operator, employers and employees.
  • Approved codes of practice.
  • Role of the Health and Safety Executive.
  • Sources of health and safety information.
  • Who is responsible for the health and safety of people working on a site.
  • The consequences for employers and employees of not fulfilling their legal health and safety responsibilities.
  • The purpose and nature of risk assessments, method statements, and permit to work systems, and the relevance of local procedures and safe systems of work.

Safe use of tools and equipment in different working environments, including:

  • Hazards and risks.
  • Fire safety procedures.
  • Manual handling.
  • Dangers of slips, trips and falls.
  • Working at height.
  • Working with tools and equipment, noisy environments, vibrating equipment.
  • Confined space/ excavations working.
  • Hazardous substances.
  • Lifting operations.
  • Dangers of asbestos/radiation.
  • Site traffic.
  • Types of signs and warnings.
  • Electricity and portable electrical appliances/ stored energy devices.
  • Environmental issues.

Safe working practices and safe solutions to problems and emergencies, such as:

  • Personal Protective Equipment.
  • Incident reporting procedures.
  • Reporting lines and procedures.
  • Importance of training.

Personal site safety responsibilities, including:

  • Consequences of safety first attitudes.
  • Personal behaviour.
  • Deal with and minimise the risks from different hazards.

Note: Delegates are allowed two attempts at the renewal test before having to attend the one day renewal course.

The ACE Card

The ACE scheme is an engineering construction industry safety card that ensures the competence of workers in the UK. Specifically, ACE stands for ‘Assuring Competence in Engineering’. Card holders will have received both health and safety training and a qualification in a specific occupational skill that is recognised by the ECITB. Moreover, skills are validated against National Occupational Standards. The safety card is awarded as a combined CCNSG/ACE Card.  To be eligible, you must have an ECITB vocational qualification and you must hold a valid CCNSG Safety Passport.

If your ACE Card has expired, please contact a local CCNSG training provider to renew your card.

If you have lost your ACE Card, please contact the ECITB at to get a replacement

Frequently Asked Questions

The CCNSG Safety Passport is a two-day training course. After sitting a test at the end of the course, successful candidates can then access engineering construction sites. In contrast, the CSCS health and safety test is for construction sites and issued by the CITB.

The short answer is yes, you need a CCNSG Safety Passport. CCNSG is the engineering construction industry safety card. To clarify, the CSCS Card is for the construction industry, which has different health and safety requirements to the engineering construction industry. However, individual site operators will specify the requirements to work on their sites.

From the 1st April 2022, the CCNSG Safety Passport expires after three years from the date of the national or renewal course. Candidates must take the online renewal test within the safety passport expiry date.

Delegates must renew their card within the expiry date otherwise candidates will be required to sit the two-day national course again.

For delegates who wish to plan their attendance in advance of their renewal date, a CCNSG renewal course can be taken up to 6 months prior to the official expiry date. CCNSG cards renewed within the expiry period will be issued to a date 3 years on from the official registered expiry date on the current card.

Unfortunately not, the ECITB does not offer grants for the CCNSG Safety Passport. However, your employer or local job centre may be able to assist you with costs.

The CCNSG courses (national, renewal & leading a team safely) can only be run by approved licensed CCNSG training providers. To find approved licensed CCNSG training providers near you, please use the ECITB’s Find A Training Provider tool.

Individuals must contact the training provider with whom they successfully completed the CCNSG Safety Passport course. If they no longer deliver this training please contact ECITB directly.

To find CCNSG-approved training providers click here.

To deliver the CCNSG Safety Passport you will first need to become an Approved Training Provider. Click here for more information.
Go to Top