Our website is currently in beta, so please let us know what you think
CCNSG and ACE cards2019-04-25T16:17:27+01:00

CCNSG Safety Passport

The Client Contractor National Safety Group (CCNSG) passport is the main safety card scheme for the engineering construction industry. The CCNSG card is required to enter many engineering construction sites and around 30,000 people complete the course each year.

The available courses are:

The CCNSG National Course is a two-day training course in basic site safety. Candidates who successfully complete the course receive a safety passport, which is valid for three years.

The CCNSG National Course covers the following topics:

  • Safe behaviours at work
  • Consequences of good/bad safety
  • Health and Safety at Work Act 1974
  • Risk assessments
  • What is hazard?
  • What is risk?
  • Hierarchy of control
  • As low as reasonably practical
  • Fire safety
  • Manual handling
  • Noise
  • HAVS
  • Confined space
  • Asbestos
  • Working at height
  • Site transport
  • Signage
  • Excavations
  • Electric/Isolation
  • Environment
  • Reporting/RIDDOR

The CCNSG Renewal Course is designed as a one-day refresher course for those who have already completed the CCNSG National Course. Card holder must renew within three months of the safety passport expiry date or they must retake the two-day CCNSG National Course.

The CCNSG Renewal Course covers:

  • The impact of an accident
  • The importance of safe behaviour
  • Legal framework
  • PTW
  • Good practice

CCNSG Leading a Team Safely is a one day workshop designed to provide an introduction to managing health and safety within small teams.

The workshop covers:

  • How to communicate successfully
  • How to lead a team successfully
  • How to achieve safe outcomes
  • Self-management
  • How to work safely with others

The CCNSG Test-Only for Renewal Course is designed for delegates who already have a passport and serves as an alternative option to the CCNSG Renewal Course.

Candidates must take the online renewal test within three months of the safety passport expiry date. It consists of a 60 multi-choice question test with a pass mark of 48 (80%). No training or assistance will be given at the test session so delegates must ensure they have revised their health and safety knowledge in preparation for the test.

Topics contained within the CCNSG renewal test include:

Understand health and safety legislation, regulations and safe working practices and procedures.

  • Relevant health and safety legislation and regulations in relation to responsibilities of client or site operator, employers and employees
  • Approved codes of practice (ACOP)
  • Role of the Health and Safety Executive (HSE)
  • Sources of health and safety information
  • Who is responsible for the health and safety of people working on a site
  • The consequences for employers and employees of not fulfilling their legal health and safety responsibilities
  • The purpose and nature of risk assessments, method statements, and permit to work systems, and the relevance of local procedures and safe systems of work

Understand the safe use of tools and equipment in different working environments.

  • Hazards and risks, ERICPD/ ALARP
  • Fire safety procedures
  • Manual handling
  • Dangers of slips, trips and falls
  • Working at height
  • Working with tools and equipment, noisy environments, vibrating equipment
  • Confined space/ excavations working
  • Hazardous substances/COSHH
  • Lifting operations
  • Dangers of asbestos/radiation
  • Site traffic
  • Types of signs and warnings
  • Electricity and portable electrical appliances/ stored energy devices
  • Environmental issues

Understand safe working practices and safe solutions to problems and emergencies.

  • Personal Protective Equipment (PPE)
  • Incident reporting procedures
  • Reporting lines and procedures
  • Importance of training

Understand personal site safety responsibilities.

  • Consequences of safety first attitudes
  • Personal behaviour
  • Deal with and minimise the risks from different hazards

Note: Delegates are allowed two attempts at the test before having to attend the one day renewal course.

The ACE Card

The Assuring Competence in Engineering Construction (ACE) scheme validates a range of skills against National Occupational Standards. ACE ensures people working in the engineering construction industry are competent both in health and safety and specific skills relevant to their occupation.

To be eligible, you must have an ECITB vocational qualification and you must hold a valid CCNSG Safety Passport. You will be awarded a Combined CCNSG/ACE Card.

To apply for a Combined CCNSG/ACE Card please download and complete the form below.

Combined CCNSG/ACE Card Application Form

Once completed email to ace@ecitb.org.uk along with a passport sized photo (JPEG preferable).

Alternatively you can post to:

Combined CCNSG/ACE Applications
ECITB Blue Court
1 Church Lane
Kings Langley

If you have lost your Combined CCNSG/ACE Card or it has expired, please contact a local CCNSG provider to get a replacement or to renew your card.

Frequently Asked Questions

The CCNSG Safety Passport is a two-day training course with a test at the end. The CSCS health and safety test is a touch screen test based on prior knowledge.

The CSCS Card is for the construction industry and the CCNSG Safety Passport is for the engineering construction industry. Site operators will specify the requirements to work on their sites.

The CCNSG Safety Passport expires after three years from the date of the national or renewal course. You may come back for a one day renewal course up to three months after the safety passport card has expired. Once the three months have lapsed, you will be required to sit the two-day national course again.

ECITB do not offer grants for the CCNSG Safety Passport. Your employer or local job centre may be able to assist you with costs.

The CCNSG courses (national, renewal & leading a team safely) can only be run by approved licensed CCNSG training providers. Details of approved licensed CCNSG training providers can be found on the CCNSG or ECITB website.

Contact your local training provider and arrange a time when you can visit. All training providers are listed on the ‘Find a training provider’ page. You do not have to get a replacement card from the provider you did the training with.

To find CCNSG-approved training providers click here.
To deliver the CCNSG Safety Passport you will first need to become an Approved Training Provider. Click here for more information.