Celebrating engineering construction’s finest

17 October 2017/Categories: Media Centre Events, Media News, Press Releases 2016, Communicate, Press Releases 2017

The engineering construction industry’s brightest and best will be honoured at a prestigious industry awards on 26 October.

The sixth annual Engineering Construction Industry Training and Development Awards will celebrate the achievements and successes of individuals, companies and training providers across the engineering construction industry. 

The finalists were revealed this month after a panel of expert judges pored over the nominations. Categories include the ‘National Apprentice of the Year’ and the ‘Women in Engineering’ awards.

This year host Professor Jim Al-Khalili OBE, quantum physicist, author and broadcaster, will present the awards ceremony at The Institution of Engineering and Technology, in Savoy Place, London.

Chris Claydon, ECITB Chief Executive, said: “The ECITB is committed to ensuring that the engineering construction workforce has the skills it needs. Without this continuous investment in people and skills the country’s critical national infrastructure would not be built or maintained.

“The annual awards are a great way to recognise all the fantastic work already being carried out by the people and companies within the sector.” 

The Engineering Construction Industry Training and Development Awards 2017 categories and finalists are:

National Apprentice of the Year

•           George Rowe – Jacobs UK

•           Nick Wingate – Engie Fabricom

•           Daniel Gear – Petrofac


Innovation in Learning

•           NNB Nuclear New Build        

•           TechnipFMC  

•           Cape Industrial Services


Individual Delivery of Learning

•           Sam Malone – Jacobs UK Ltd          

•           Malcolm Baker – Boulting Group Ltd


SME of the Year

•           Jacopa Ltd     

•           Pruce Newman Pipework Ltd           

•           Thyson Technology Ltd


Graduate Learner of the Year

•           Philip Gascoigne – Cavendish Nuclear         

•           Kathryn Bremner – Jacobs UK Ltd    J

•           Johnnie Shak – Amec Foster Wheeler


Improver of the Year

•           Joseph Kearney – Costain                

•           Anthony Dorney – Boulting Group Ltd

•           Jonathan Duffy – Boulting Group Ltd



•           Connected Competence Project       

•           Collaboration with Industry Experts Project  

•           Pre-Apprenticeship Training Project


Women in Engineering

•           Kim Briggs – Jacobs UK Ltd 

•           Samantha Newton – Jacobs UK Ltd 

•           Lydia Rowell – Sellafield        

•           Chloe Branston – Cavendish Nuclear