Latest News

Top industry representatives appointed to Engineering Construction Industry Training Board

31 May 2018/Categories: Uncategorized, Media Centre Events, Media News, Publications, International News, Communicate, Press Releases 2017, Press Releases 2018

The Engineering Construction Industry Training Board (ECITB) has today announced the appointment of 9 new Board members to lead the organisation.


Board members will work under the leadership of Lynda Armstrong OBE, who was appointed by the Minster for Apprenticeships and Skills, Anne Milton MP in January to chair the training board.


The streamlined new Board will set the strategic direction of the ECITB and champion its work as the statutory skills body for the engineering construction industry in England, Scotland and Wales. It will also hold the Executive Team to account for delivery of the organisation’s offer to industry.


The new Board consists of the following individuals:

  • Christopher Claypole – Managing Director, Stocks Group
  • Martyn Fletcher – Head of Construction Centre of Excellence, Doosan Babcock
  • Simon Hicks – UK Managing Director, CAPE Industrial Services
  • Hilary Hill – Director of Engineering Operations: EMEA region, KBR
  • Mike Hockey – Chief Executive, Engineering Construction Industry Association
  • Professor Joe Howe – Executive Director of the Thornton Energy Institute, University of Chester
  • Dawn James – Vice President, New Nuclear and Generation Services, Wood
  • David Vineall – HR Director, Nuclear Decommissioning Authority
  • Craig Wiggins – Senior Vice President, Production Asset Services: Europe, Middle East and Africa, Aker Solutions


Lynda Armstrong, Chair of the ECITB Board, said:


“I am pleased to be joined by such a high-calibre and diverse group of professionals on the ECITB Board. Collectively they represent the wide range of sectors and regions in which the engineering construction industry operates, and include SMEs as well as several excellent independent experts. I am in no doubt that these appointments will serve the ECITB and the industry well over the coming years.”

Anne Milton MP, Minister for Apprenticeships and Skills, said:

“I am pleased to appoint new Board Members to the ECITB. The industry experience these Board Members bring will be of great value to the engineering construction industry.”

Chris Claydon, Chief Executive of the ECITB, said:


“The ECITB is embarking on an important new phase in its drive to support the industry’s skills and training needs, including reforming our grants system and ensuring we deliver value for money to levy-payers. These appointments place the ECITB in an excellent position to implement our strategic plan and guide the organisation through the next consensus round with industry in 2019."


Board Members are appointed by the ECITB’s Government sponsor, the Department for Education, for up to a four-year period, renewable for a second term with the approval of the Secretary of State.




ECITB Board Members


Christopher Claypole 

• Managing Director, Stocks Group – an SME based in Scunthorpe.

• Previously worked as Group Operations / HSEQ Director at Stocks Group and Health and Safety Manager at Site Service Engineering.

• Board member of the ECIA and Chartered Member of the Institute of Occupational Safety and Health.


Martyn Fletcher

• Head of Construction Centre of Excellence, Doosan Babcock.

• Chartered engineer with over 25 years of international experience.

• Non-executive director and chair of the National Skills Academy for Nuclear and chair of the Welding Apprenticeship trailblazer sub-group in High-Integrity Welding.



Simon Hicks

• Managing Director (UK), CAPE Industrial Services and member of Cape Plc Executive Committee.

• Previously worked as Director of Industrial Services at Harsco Infrastructure and Project Services Director at BIS Industrial Services.

• Associate Member of the Chartered Institute of Engineering Technology.


Hilary Hill

• Director of Engineering Operations: EMEA region, KBR.

• A chartered engineer with over 27 years’ experience.  Has come from a mechanical and piping background within the engineering contractors industry.  Previously worked for John Brown Engineers and Constructors Ltd and Foster Wheeler.

• Mentor and assessor for the Institute for Mechanical Engineering (IMechE) and a passionate advocate for improving inclusion within the engineering environment.



Mike Hockey

• Chief Executive, Engineering Construction Industry Association.

• Previous roles include General Manager at Kellogg Brown and Root and Head of Construction for Western Europe at Snamprogetti Ltd.

• Employer Representative on the National Joint Council for the Engineering Construction Industry (NJCECI) and Board member of the Offshore Contractors Association (OCA).


Professor Joe Howe 

• Executive Director and Professor of the Thornton Energy Institute at the University of Chester.

• Lead investigator for two Innovate UK projects on carbon capture and storage and nuclear decommissioning.

• Visiting Professor at Harbin Institute of Technology and Associate of the National Nuclear Laboratory and the British Geological Survey.


Dawn James 

• Vice President, New Nuclear and Generation Services, Wood

• A mechanical engineer with 30 years’ experience in the nuclear sector. Previously Vice President, Nuclear Generation and Defence at Amec Foster Wheeler and Engineering Director at Sellafield Ltd. 

• Started career on an EITB-approved technician engineering apprenticeship at Williams Fairey Engineering.


David Vineall

• HR Director, Nuclear Decommissioning Authority - covering 17 nuclear civil sites including Sellafield and Magnox sites.

• Previously HR Director at Tata Steel (formerly Corus) and various BAE Systems businesses, including Naval Shipbuilding and Support.

• Founder and Deputy Chair of the Nuclear Skills Strategy Group (NSSG) and previous Chairman and Director of Energus, an award winning Training Facility and provider in Cumbria.


Craig Wiggins

• Senior Vice President, Production Asset Services: Europe, Middle East and AfricaMEA, Aker Solutions.

• Previously, Operations Manager and Regional Performance Manager for BP, St. Fergus Gas Plant Manager for Shell and Operations Director with Duty Holder responsibility at Petrofac.

• Chartered Fellow at the Chartered Management Institute and co-chair of Step Change in Safety’s asset integrity steering group.