Finalists Announced! Celebrating engineering construction’s finest

The engineering construction industry’s brightest and best will be honoured at a prestigious industry awards dinner on 11 October.

06 August 2018/Categories: Media News, Press Releases 2017, Press Releases 2018

The seventh annual Engineering Construction Industry Training and Development Awards will celebrate the achievements and successes of individuals, companies and training providers across the engineering construction industry.


The finalists were revealed this month after a panel of expert judges pored over the nominations. Categories include the ‘Young Apprentice of the Year’ and ‘Supporting Diversity in Engineering Construction’.


Helen Czerski, physicist, oceanographer and presenter of BBC’s Orbit: Earth’s Extraordinary Journey, will present the awards ceremony at The Bloomsbury Hotel in London.


Chris Claydon, ECITB chief executive said: “The ECITB’s annual training and development awards recognise the great work going on right across the industry to ensure employers and their workforce have the skills they need to succeed.


“With Brexit and a number of major engineering construction projects on the horizon, there has never been a more important time for the industry to invest in its people.  These awards are an opportunity to celebrate the people, employers and training providers who have really excelled this year and showcase the finest examples of training and development in the industry.”


The Engineering Construction Industry Training and Development Awards 2018 finalists are:


Young Apprentice of the Year

·         Kyle Marshall – Jacobs UK Ltd

·         Marcus Mullay – Aker Solutions

·         Liam Simpson – Cleveland Bridge

·         Laura Pugh – Sellafield Ltd

·         Matthew Kew – KBR Ltd

·         Stuart Ferguson – Aker Solutions


SME of the Year

·         G R Carr Ltd    

·         Mechatherm International Ltd ( Kingswinford)         

·         Lorien Engineering Solutions


Large Employer of the Year

·         Weir Engineering Services Ltd

·         Sellafield Ltd

·         Cavendish Nuclear


Approved Training Provider of the Year

·         Gen2

·         Hydratight

·         Swagelok Scotland


Graduate Learner of the Year

·         Craig Clayton – Wood      

·         Lou Charpentier-Dusoir – Lorien Engineering Solutions Ltd

·         Jordan Randel – Hornbill Engineering


Improver of the Year

·         Conor Duncan - Stork              

·         Tom Gallacher – Wood

·         Ameer Hamza – Mechatherm International Ltd


Introduction to Engineering Construction (ITEC) Learner of the Year

·         Ben Shield – Gen2

·         Oscar Hall – East Coast College

·         Harry Gagen – The Engineering College

·         Lewis Colbrook – North Lindsey College

·         James Joynson – The Engineering College

·         Bradley Duncan – Weston College

·         Adam Robinson – Yeovil College


 Supporting Diversity in Engineering Construction

·         Magnox Ltd 

·         Wood Group D & I Committee

·         Rebecca Barnes – Cavendish Nuclear       



Winners will be announced at the Awards Dinner on 11th October.


To purchase tickets or sponsor the event, please visit https://ecitb.org.uk/About-Us/Annual-Awards-2018